Recipes · Uncategorized

Day 4: The 12 Days of…(Series)

Welcome to Day 4 of The 12 Days of Blood Sugar Balancing Breakfasts!  Today I am sharing what has become one of my FAVORITE smoothie recipes.  Yes I know, it is winter.  Who thinks of making smoothies these days?  That is for summer  right? While I agree that saving the cooling foods for the hot months is a great idea, I also think incorporating some of those same ingredients during the winter can be tasteful and nourishing!

This recipe is call the Lemon Low-Glycemic Smoothie.  A very technical name (perhaps we should rename it?) but one that is very fitting for our purposes.  I wish I could take credit for this recipe but alas, I can’t.  I directly”cut & pasted” from my email here for you.  It came from Andrea Nakayama, Functional Nutritionist and owner of Holistic Nutrition Lab.  This woman is smart, empathetic and boy does she know her stuff!  A total nutrition wiz and geek!  I always feel inspired when I read her work or watch her videos!

pexels-photo-128403

When I first looked at the ingredient list, I was mildly skeptical at how vanilla and cinnamon (flavors I associate with creamy smoothies) would successfully blend coexhist with parsley, lemon and berries (flavors that are green).  I needn’t have been worried.  If you are hesitant then just step over your skepticism like I did and try it.  I bet you will be surprised…and satisfied.

That is another thing you might be surprised at… how satisfying this smoothie can be.  Smoothies are notorious for being too fruity/sugary, causing the sugar spike, and leave you feeling ravenous 30 minutes later.  Not so with this lemony loveliness!

In the beginning I recommend that you follow the recipe exactly.  Later after you love it (believe me, you will) and have gotten the hang of it, feel free to explore a little and substitute items.  I did this out of necessity yesterday.  My parsley was all used up so I substituted spinach.  I have also run out of berries and so slip in 1/2 of a banana (as a rule go light on bananas).

So try brighten  up your holidays with this flavorful, satisfying smoothie.  I think you will thank yourself later.

(oh…and you are welcome )

Lemon Low-Glycemic Smoothie

This leafy smoothie is packed with cancer-fighting power. In fact, it contains five of the Top 10 Foods to Aid Glycemic (blood sugar) Control. Those are: cinnamon, berries, parsley, flaxseed meal and LEMON!

ingredients:
2 cups water
2 cups wild blueberries
1 large handful parsley
zest of one lemon
squeeze of half a lemon
1 Tablespoon flax meal
1 knob of fresh ginger, about the size of a small adult thumbnail
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
20 drops liquid vanilla stevia
1/4 cup Brazil nuts
1 Tablespoon maca root powder (optional)
ice (optional)

preparation:
With a high speed blender like a Vitamix or BlendTec, throw all ingredients in and blend on high until creamy and smooth. This smoothie is on the more liquid side, so be sure to add ice if you’d like it a bit more slushy-like.With a less powerful blender, be sure to chop the parsley and add ingredients and blend, one at a time, until all ingredients are liquefied.

I like to drink my smoothies from a glass or metal straw. Serves 2.

Photo Credit: Pexels

Leave a Reply

